Allo' Expat Shanghai - Connecting Expats in Shanghai
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Shanghai Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter

   Information Center Shanghai
Shanghai General Information
History of Shanghai
Shanghai Culture
Shanghai Cuisine
Shanghai Geography
Shanghai Population
Shanghai Government
Shanghai Economy
Shanghai Communications
Shanghai Transportations
Shanghai Military
Shanghai Transnational Issues
Shanghai Climate & Environment
Shanghai Crime & Security
Shanghai Media
Shanghai Expatriates Handbook
Shanghai and Foreign Government
Shanghai General Listings
Shanghai Useful Tips
Shanghai Education & Medical
Shanghai Travel & Tourism Info
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Shanghai Geography

Shanghai sits on the Yangtze River Delta on China's eastern coast, and is roughly equidistant from Beijing and Hong Kong. The municipality as a whole consists of a peninsula between the Yangtze and Hangzhou Bay, mainland China's second-largest island Chongming, and a number of smaller islands. It is bordered on the north and west by Jiangsu, on the south by Zhejiang, and on the east by the East China Sea. The city proper is bisected by the Huangpu River, a tributary of the Yangtze. The historic centre of the city, the Puxi area, is located on the western side of the Huangpu, while the newly developed Pudong, containing the central financial district Lujiazui, was developed on the eastern bank.

The vast majority of Shanghai's 6,340.5 km² (2,448.1 mi²) land area is flat, apart from a few hills in the southwest corner, with an average elevation of 4 m (13 ft). The city's location on the flat alluvial plain has meant that new skyscrapers must be built with deep concrete piles to stop them from sinking into the soft ground. The highest point is at the peak of Dajinshan Island at 103 m (338 ft).

Shanghai contains 53.1 km (33 mi) of rivers and streams and is part of the Lake Taihu drainage area. Suzhou Creek is 125 km (78 mi) long and has an average width of 70 to 80 m, while the Huangpu River is 80 km (50 mi) long and is around 400 m wide.

Shanghai city proper is bisected by the Huangpu River: Puxi, on the west side, is the historic centre of the city, and includes the districts of Yangpu, Hongkou, Zhabei, Putuo, Changning, Xuhui, Jing'an, Luwan and Huangpu. Pudong is located on the east side and is the location of Shanghai's rapid development, including its new famous skyline and the Lujiazui financial district. The outer districts, or suburbs, surround the city proper, and are Baoshan, Minhang, Jiading, Jinshan, Songjiang, Qingpu, Nanhui, Fengxian, and the rural eastern part of Pudong. Shanghai's only county – Chongming – is in the far north of the municipality and makes up the islands of Chongming, Changxing and Hengxia.





copyrights ©
2015 | Policy